Do You Know The Answer?

Irv Mazur writes and asks the following question;


Can you let me know if Far Rockaway is or was part of the 5 towns. I have a bet with someone that insists that  Far Rockaway was never part of the 5 towns. Could you please get me the answers on this?

Thanks much,

Irv Mazur

If you can help, please e-mail the answer to Irv's question to and I will post it.

Many thanks to you and all the folks that tried to help with my question" was Far Rockaway part of the five towns"? Although the answer to this question has still not been resolved, It is interesting to see the varied comments pertaining to this question. Again, many thanks to those of you that have tried to answer this question.

The following are several pictures that I have found in my scrap book. Can you name these people? A hint, the large pictures was taken in 1957. This was the second graduating class  from Cardoza JHS198. The teacher was Miss Turner.

The two smaller pictures were taken on beach 27th st.   Enjoy!!!!!

Irv Mazur

Well Irv, You Asked For It!  Several people have written in to help you with the answer to this question.  Below are their thoughts.

I was brought up on the borderline of Rockaway and  Inwood.  The five towns does not include Far Rockaway. Just ask the Nassau County  clerks office, and also the Nassau County Police Department.  They very rarely came into Rockaway since it was out of there juristician..

Rockaway  native

Dear Skip,

The Five Towns is comprised of Cedarhurst, Hewlet, Inwood, Lawrence, and Woodmere. Located at the Southern most tip of main land Nassau County, Long Island and adjacent to Queens.

The first settlers arrived in the 1600's. Local government was based in Hempstead and dominated by Presbyterian settlers. The Rockaway Peninsula on which the Five Towns stands derives its name from the Rockaway Indians or Reuckowacky Tribe. Early settlers recognized the value of the pasture land
that stretched from Hewlett to Inwood, and forced the Reuckowacky population out. The last Native American in the Five Towns died in 1888, and Abraham Hewlett erected a monument to remember the "Last of the Iroquois." The memorial still stands in Woodsburgh.


Caro Marston, Class of 1956

Dear Skip,

As far back as I can remember Far Rockaway was part of the five towns.

Joan Robins


I lived right "on the border" of the 5 towns - the corner of my street (Alonzo Road, near Doughty Blvd. in Lawrence and Beach 9th St. in Far Rock )was Lawrence and those kids went to Lawrence High. I'm told that
area is now called "West Lawrence," but I don't know if it has 5 towns status. Incidentally, I had the opportunity to visit my old house in May '98 after many years and the inhabitants graciously let me come in and see what had been done!!

Rhoda  (Feinberg) Nevins, Class of 1962

I don't think so.  I think the five towns were Inwood, Lawrence, Cedarhurst, Woodmere, and Hewlett.  If Far Rockaway was, then Hewlett wasn't. But I think the five towns were all in Nassau county, which puts Hewlett in and Rockaway, as part of NYC, out.


Joe Marasco, Class of 1962

The Rockaway boys were never satisfied with the locals and for the most  part tried to establish relationships with the girls from THE FIVE TOWS.  That alone tells me that Far Rockaway  was not part of that community and for the most part we were appreciated  as being from ROCKAWAY and not from "THE 5
TOWNS".   We thank the Lord for the difference!

No Name Given

Several people have identified Hewlett as one of the Five Towns, and this is a common misperception. Atlantic Beach, not Hewlett, is one of the towns. (Check out one of the phone books from the mid-1950's.) Each of Atlantic Beach, Inwood, Cedarhurst, Lawrence and Woodmere is technically an incorporated village (as is Woodsburgh).

As best I know, Far Rockaway was never one of the Five Towns.  I believe that just before the consolidation of New York City in 1898, Far Rockaway was part of Jamaica, an incorporated town in Queens County. (Parts of Lawrence may have been included in that town but joined Nassau County after the consolidation.) I do agree with Carol that the first center of local government had been in Hempstead.

I think that some people believe that Far Rockaway was once part of Lawrence because the Rockaway Hunt Club is located there. That club, however, was first located in Bayswater, at the end of Mott Avenue, and retained the "Rockaway" in its name when it moved to Lawrence.

I think that "West Lawrence" is a new term, started by people who live in the Reads Lane area.

Fred Strober '66

Far Rockaway was never part of the Five Towns. At one time (1770's), Nassau County was part of Queens County (see and look up Rockaway and Queens in the historical series they have been running). However, due to politics and patriotism during the Revolutionary War, everything was broken up, according to which side of the war you were sympathic to). Atlantic
Beach is not part of the Five Towns. Inwood and Hewlett are, but not incorporated villages. "West Lawrence" is a term derived by residents on the Far Rockaway/Lawrence border (zip code is Far Rockaway; taxes are paid to City of New York) to make the area sound "separate" from the rest of Far Rockaway. One block in from Doughy Blvd. is part of Nassau County (the unincorporated part of Lawrence), as is Beach 2nd Street and Seagirt Avenue (by the boat marina).  I hope this has been helpful!  Regards!

Elisa B. Hinken, Class of 1976
Lawrence High School
MedMal Nursing Consultant Services
(a division of MedMal Consultants, Inc.)

The Rockaways were never a part of the five towns ... remember the Rockaways were a part of Queens in New York City ... The five towns were .... Lawrence, Inwood, Cedarhurst, Hewlett and Woodmere ... all part of Nassau County ....

 No Name

Joe Marasco, Class of 1962 is right. The Five Towns has always been "Inwood, Lawrence, Cedarhurst, Woodmere and Hewlett".

Gert, Class of 1943.

I don't believe that Far Rockaway, was ever a part of the Five Towns.  The Five Towns is made up (and still is) of Lawrence - Inwood - Cedarhurst - Woodmere and Hewlett.  These towns are in Nassau County, with the dividing line Doughty Blvd. actually it was one or two blocks west of Doughty Blvd.  Far Rockaway was always a part of New York (Queens).  My time line goes back to 1927.

Harold Schafer

PS Glad I found your site.  I'll visit again.  Thank you.

Dear Irv,

Far Rockaway wouldn't be allowed into the 5 towns. 

Len Shalansky, PhD, MD, EED

Return to Home Page